Writing without Procrastinating

24 Feb

       According to Ragan Daily I found an article on ten ways to stop procrastinating and get your writing done. I picked this article because I think so many of us everyday deal with the issue. I know for me I am one of the biggest procrastinators. Wouldn’t it just be easier to get it done a head though? Writing is something I like to wait to the last minute for and then try to rush it all together especially in my English’s classes having to write essays or long stories.

The article tells us ten reasons why we should.

  1. Remember that writing is so much more than simply creating.

-Before you start just simply going at it, clear your mind so you can think of ideas.

  1. Do a mindmap.

-This will allow you to brainstorm.

  1. Always know what you are going to do next.

-Getting into a process is really going to help. It will make the time go back quicker with more work done. WHO WANTS TO SPEND EXTRA TIME WRITING?

  1. Eat your frogs early in the day.

-First draft should be done first, then work from there.

  1. Don’t let yourself edit during writing.

-You want to just focus on writing. The more you focus on everything the longer it will take you to do everything.

  1. Get other things out of your brain.

-Develop a process where you can keep your ideas flowing.

  1. Turn off all distractions.

-The more distractions you have the longer it will take you to do the paper. Who is going to want to work longer on the paper when you can knock it out real quick?

  1. Give yourself a reward for a job well done.

-Always be proud of yourself for doing well.

  1.  Conversely, you may also need to agree on some penalty if you fail to live up to your expectations.

-It is all about motivating.

10.  Be prepared to except a rough draft first.

-Then you can work from there.

 

Why not make things as simple as you can?

Who wants to work forever on something?

I think this will help when writing just by following these easy simple steps!

One Response to “Writing without Procrastinating”

  1. lisjostaggs February 25, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    This post was definitely something I needed to read! I am notorious for procrastinating as long as possible. I don’t know what it is, but no matter how much I want to get stuff done ahead, I just can’t seem to do it! I will make sure to try this process and see how it goes!

Leave a Reply

